June Rules Quiz Answers

Answers:

 

  1. Agree  The player is penalized two strokes for having more than one caddie, contrary to Rule 6-4 [Caddie]. The penalty statement for this Rule states, in part, “If a breach is discovered between the play of two holes, it is deemed to have been discovered during play of the next hole, and the penalty must be applied accordingly.” See Decision 6-4/4 [Caddie Hires Boy to Carry All of Player’s Clubs Except Putter].

 

  1. Agree The player’s score for the hole is 6 = 4 talent strokes + 2 penalty strokes. The player is penalized two strokes per Rule 17-3 [Ball Striking Flagstick or Attendant]. See Decision 17-3/2 [Opponent or Fellow-Competitor Attending Flagstick for Player Fails to Remove It; Player’s Ball Strikes Flagstick] which points out that if the failure to remove the flagstick is not deliberate, e.g., if the person attending the flagstick is distracted or the flagstick is stuck in the hole-liner, then the player is penalized because the person attending the flagstick was doing so on behalf of the player, and the ball is played as it lies.

 

  1. Disagree The player’s score for the hole is 4! There is no penalty for carrying more than 14 clubs as the penalty statement for Rule 4-4 [Maximum of Fourteen Clubs] states, in part, “If a breach is discovered between the play of two holes, it is deemed to have been discovered during play of the hole just completed, and the penalty for a breach of Rule 4-4a or b does not apply to the next hole.”

 

  1. Agree The player’s score for the hole is 6 = 2 talent strokes + 4 penalty strokes. Decision 13-4/15 [Ball in Hazard Moves When Loose Impediment Removed] explains, “As a single act resulted in two Rules being breached (Rule 13-4 and Rule 18-2), in equity (Rule 1-4), a single penalty is applied. Therefore, the competitor incurs a two-stroke penalty under Rule 13-4 and the ball must be replaced (Rule 18-2). If the ball is not replaced before the competitor makes his next stroke, the failure to replace the ball is considered a separate act and he incurs an additional penalty of two strokes under Rule 18-2.”

 

Date
Category
June 2017 Answers