March Rules Quiz Answers: March Madness?

Answers:  March Madness?

 

  1. (c) According to the Definition of “Ball in Play,” a ball is “in play” as soon as the player has made a stroke on the teeing ground. According to the Definition of “Stroke,” a “stroke” is the forward movement of the club with the intention of striking the ball. Therefore, once the competitor began his downswing, his ball was in play. Rule 18-5 [Ball at Rest Moved by Another Ball] states, “If a ball in play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion after a stroke, the moved ball must be replaced.”

 

  1. (b) Per Rule 15-3 [Wrong Ball], A is penalized two strokes for playing a wrong ball. A then asked for advice concerning his next stroke contrary to Rule 8-1 [Advice], and ordinarily would have been penalized two strokes. However, when he questioned B regarding his previous club selection, A was not aware that he would have to go back to find and play his original ball. Thus, in equity (Rule 1-4), A is not penalized per Decision 13-2/4.5 [Divots Replaced in Area in Which Ball Is to Be Dropped]. Also, Decision 8-1/6 [Asking Opponent or Fellow-Competitor What Club He Used at Previous Hole] points out that it is not advice to ask someone about his club selection on a previous hole.

 

  1. (d) After the competitor borrowed the hat, it remained his equipment even though he took it off and placed it beside its owner’s golf bag. A portion of the Definition of “Equipment” states, “Other shared equipment is deemed to be the equipment of the player who last used, wore, held or carried it. It remains that player’s equipment until it is used, worn, held or carried by the other player.” The competitor is penalized one stroke under Rule 19-2 [Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped by Player, Partner, Caddie or Equipment]. Under that Rule, the competitor is not permitted to play the ball as it lies when it comes to rest on the player’s equipment. Thus, the competitor is penalized two strokes under Rule 20-7 [Playing from Wrong Place].

 

  1. (d) As A’s partner, B is permitted to mark and lift A’s ball per Rule 20-1 [Lifting and Marking] without penalty. When B set A’s ball aside, the ball was out of play. When A then marked, lifted, and replaced his ball, his ball was in play, but at the wrong place. Thus, A is penalized two strokes for then playing from a wrong place per Rule 20-7. When B intentionally stopped A’s putt, there was a breach of Rule 1-2 [Exerting Influence on Movement of Ball or Altering Physical Conditions]. According to Decision 1-2/7 [Player Purposely Deflects Partner’s Ball in Motion on Putting Green], A incurs the two-stroke penalty for the breach of Rule 1-2. A then incurred another two-stroke penalty for playing from a wrong place when he failed to play his ball from the place where B stopped A’s putt.
Date
Category
March 2017 Answers