March Rules Quiz

 

Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel actually initiated their singer/song writer collaboration under the name of “Tom and Jerry” in the late 1950s. However, as “Simon & Garfunkel,” they became one of the most popular recording artists of the 1960s. Unfortunately, their renowned partnership was relatively short-lived as they parted ways in 1970. It seems that their demise was largely due to artistic differences. However, unconfirmed, i.e., “fake” news, sources have recently revealed that their relationship actually started to unravel when a particular round of match-play on a windy day turned rather contentious. Using the current Rules, see if you could have kept Simon & Garfunkel intact by making the correct rulings for the following match-play scenarios which incorporate some of their song titles (in italics):

 

  1. On one particular hole, Paul’s ball came to rest on a wooden Bridge Over Troubled Water, and he grounded his club on the bridge before playing his next stroke. Art, A Most Peculiar Man, claimed the hole contending that Paul breached Rule 13-4 [Ball in Hazard; Prohibited Actions] when he grounded his club on the bridge which was within a water hazard. Was Art’s claim valid?

 

  1. After leaving the green of the next hole, Art found a couple of wedges that had been left behind by Mrs. Robinson and her daughter Cecilia who were playing in the group ahead. As soon as Art put the two clubs in his bag, Paul claimed that the state of the match needed to be adjusted because Art now had more than 14 clubs in his bag. Was Paul’s claim valid? (P.S. Simon & Garfunkel made sure that the ladies had a nice Mother and Child Reunion with their golf clubs after their round.)

 

  1. At the next teeing ground, Art, visibly irritated by Paul’s claim regarding the additional clubs, whiffed his tee shot. Paul jokingly remarked, “Oh, The Sound of Silence.” Even more agitated after that comment, Art then picked up his ball and re-teed it at another location within the teeing ground and successfully played his drive. Paul then claimed the hole on the basis that Art had breached Rule 18-2 [Ball at Rest Moved by Player …] by moving his ball in play and not replacing it. Was Paul’s claim valid?

 

  1. On the 12th hole, Paul’s drive came to rest on a cart path. He was worried that if he dropped his ball correctly within one club-length of the nearest point of relief from the cart path, the ball would end up Slip Slidin’ Away into an unplayable lie. Therefore, he took another ball out of his bag and dropped it to get the equivalent of a Kodachrome photograph of what might happen when taking relief from the cart path. When Paul made the test drop, which did not roll into an unplayable lie, Art immediately claimed the hole on the basis that Paul did not proceed in accordance with Rule 20-2 [Dropping and Re-Dropping]. Was Art’s claim valid?

 

  1. On the last hole and with the match all square, Paul, played safe with his Baby Driver, but his ball ricocheted off a beverage cart being driven across the fairway by a girl with Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes and bounced through the Graceland cemetery boundary fence into an area planted in Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme. After a brief search, he remarked, “That ball is Gone at Last in the Leaves That Are Green.” Believing it unfair that the cart deflected his ball out of play, Paul dropped and played a ball about where his ball struck the cart, saying, “I’m Still Crazy After All These Years, but I’m Homeward Bound.” Art commented, “Only in America,” and then claimed the hole and the match on the basis that Paul played from a wrong place. Was his claim valid?
Date
Category
March 2017 Rules