Archive

Answers:   True Per new Rule 13.1c(2) [Repair of Damage], you are permitted to repair damage on the putting green without penalty by taking reasonable actions to restore the putting green as nearly as possible to its original condition.  “Damage on the putting green” includes...

Answers:      Treat  Current Rule 14-4 [Striking Ball More Than Once] states, “If a player’s club strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke, the player must count the stroke and add a penalty stroke, making two strokes in all.”  However,...

Answers:      Then Currently, Rule 16-1c [Repair of Hole Plugs, Ball Marks and Other Damage] limits the player to repairing only old hole plugs or damage to the putting green caused by the impact of a ball.  See also Decision 16-1a/7 [Player Repairs Depression on Line...

Answers:    Both The Definition of “Hole” prescribes these dimensions in both versions of the Rules.        Now Currently, under Rule 16-1c [The Putting Green: Repair of Hole Plugs, Ball Marks and Other Damage], you are permitted to repair an old hole plug or damage to...

Answers:   (b) Per Decision 20-6/1 [Ball Placed When Required to Be Dropped or Dropped When Required to Be Placed; Correction of Error], you incur the general penalty, i.e., loss of hole in match play and two strokes in stroke play, if you fail to correct...

Answers:   The issue is the proper method for marking the position of a ball to be lifted. The Note to Rule 20-1 [Lifting and Marking] states, “The position of a ball to be lifted should be marked by placing a ball-marker, a small coin...

[vc_row css_animation="" row_type="row" use_row_as_full_screen_section="no" type="full_width" angled_section="no" text_align="left" background_image_as_pattern="without_pattern" padding_bottom="60"][vc_column][vc_single_image image="18497" img_size="full" alignment="center" qode_css_animation="" qode_hover_animation="zoom_in"][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row css_animation="" row_type="row" use_row_as_full_screen_section="no" type="full_width" angled_section="no" text_align="left" background_image_as_pattern="without_pattern"][vc_column][vc_column_text] (a) According to Rule 20-1 [Lifting and Marking], if a ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved in the process of lifting the ball...

Answers:   (a) Rule 14-3 [Artificial Devices and Unusual Equipment; Abnormal Use of Equipment] states, in part, “Except as provided in the Rules, during a stipulated round the player must not use any artificial device or unusual equipment … (f) or the purpose of gauging or...

Answers: The issue is how Mick and Keith should proceed after outside agencies have moved their balls at rest. Rule 18-1 [Ball at Rest Moved by Outside Agency] points out, “If a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency, there is no...