April Rules Quiz: April Showers

April showers bring May flowers.” Did you know that this familiar rhyme, often heard this time of year, can be traced back to the mid-16thcentury?  In 1557, an English poet and farmer, Thomas Tusser, wrote, “Sweet April showers, do spring May flowers” in his work A Hundred Good Points of Husbandry.  In this month’s quiz, see if you are able to select the correct ruling for each of the following flower-infused situations:

 

 

 

  1. Petunia’s drive with a yellow ball ends up in a large patch of dandelions.Unfortunately, there are so many blooming dandelions that no one can find her ball within five minutes of her commencing the search.  However, everyone agrees that it is virtually certain that Petunia’s ball is hiding somewhere within the dandelions.  Which of the following is correct?  (a) Since it is virtually certain that her ball is in the dandelion patch, Petunia’s ball is not lost.  Without penalty, Petunia may drop a ball outside of the dandelion patch no nearer the hole than the estimated point where her original ball came to rest.  (b) Petunia may drop a ball anywhere within the dandelion patch under penalty of one stroke.  (c) Petunia must return to the teeing ground under penalty of stroke and distance.
  2. Heather’s ball comes to rest within a group of azalea bushes.She deems her ball unplayable and drops a ball about 20 feet behind the azaleas pursuant to Rule 28b.  After playing the dropped ball into the fairway, she discovers that the azaleas have been designated as ground under repair by Local Rule.  Heather abandons the ball in the fairway and drops and plays another ball after taking relief from the azaleas pursuant to Rule 25 [Abnormal Ground Conditions].  How many penalty strokes has Heather incurred in this stroke-play scenario?  (a) None  (b) One (c) Two  (d) Three  (e) Four (f) Five.
  3. Pansy’s ball comes to rest just in bounds near a pair of lilac bushes that are rooted out of bounds.When she takes a practice swing, she accidentally knocks down a branch holding several large lilac blossoms, thereby improving the area of her intended swing. What is the ruling?  (a) Since the lilac bushes are rooted out of bounds, Pansy incurs no penalty.  (b) Pansy incurs a one stroke penalty.  (c) Pansy incurs a loss of hole penalty in match play or a two-stroke penalty in stroke play.  (d) Pansy can avoid the penalty by altering her direction of play provided the broken branch does not improve the area of her intended swing for the stroke in the new direction.
Date
Category
April 2018 Rules