August Rules Quiz Answers

Answers:

 

 

  1. (c) The penalty statement in Rule 4-4 [Maximum of 14 Clubs] reads, “At the conclusion of the hole at which the breach is discovered, the state of the match is adjusted by deducting one hole for each hole at which a breach occurred; maximum deduction per round – Two holes. … If the breach is discovered between the play of two holes, it is deemed to have been discovered during play of the hole just completed and the penalty for a breach … does not apply to the next hole.”

 

  1. (a) According to Rule 19-5 [Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped by Another Ball], “If a player’s ball in motion after a stroke is deflected or stopped by a ball in play and at rest, the player must play his ball as it lies. In match play, there is no penalty.” Thus, West’s ball is holed for a birdie! Per Rule 18-5 [Ball at Rest Moved by Another Ball], Kilmer proceeded correctly in replacing his ball before putting out. West’s birdie over Kilmer’s par is a win for West.

 

  1. (c) In this situation, Keaton does not incur a loss of hole penalty for asking for advice because he is not seeking information that will aid him in making his next stroke. Likewise, West is not penalized for giving advice. See Decision 8-1/17 [ After Player Has Played to Green He Asks Opponent or Fellow-Competitor What Club He Used in Playing to Green]. Had Keaton asked his question prior to making his approach shot, then he would have incurred a loss of hole penalty for a breach of Rule 8-1 [Advice] whether or not West answered the question. See Decision 8-1/25 [Advice Given on Request; Penalties in Various Forms of Play].

 

  1. (b) Rule 9-2b [Information as to Strokes Taken: Match Play: Wrong Information] states, in part, “A player must not give wrong information to his opponent. If a player gives wrong information, he loses the hole. A player is deemed to have given wrong information if he … fails to inform his opponent as soon as practicable that he has incurred a penalty, unless … he was obviously proceeding under a Rule involving a penalty and this was observed by his opponent ….”

 

  1. (c) Affleck loses the 10th hole per Rule 9-2b for giving wrong information because a player is considered to have given wrong information even if it is due to the failure to include a penalty that he did not know he had incurred. See Decision 9-2/8 [Player Wins Hole with Wrong Ball; Error Discovered at Next Hole; Opponent Claims Next Hole]. Although Affleck played a wrong ball on the 10th hole, continuing play with that ball during the subsequent holes is permissible as that ball became his ball in play. Per Decision 15-1/1 [Balls Inadvertently Exchanged by Players Between Holes], a ball played from the teeing ground into the hole is not a wrong ball, even if does not belong to the player.
Date
Category
August 2017 Answers