February Rules Quiz Happy Valentines Day Answers

Answers:

  1. (d) According to the Definition of “Outside Agency,” wind is not an outside agency. However, Decision 18-1/6 [Ball at Rest Moved by Blowing Tumbleweed] clarifies that something being blown across the course by wind is an outside agency. Therefore, the balloon is an outside agency, and Rule 19-1 [Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped by Outside Agency] applies. In part, this Rule states, “If a player’s ball in motion is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency, it is a rub of the green, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies ….” In this case, since your ball came to rest out of bounds, Rule 27-1b [Ball Out of Bounds] also applies so you must play a ball, under penalty of one stroke, as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played.

 

  1. (c) The Definition of “Obstruction” states, in part, “An “obstruction” is anything artificial … [and] is a movable obstruction if it may be moved without unreasonable effort, without unduly delaying play and without causing damage.” Given that the cupcake is a movable obstruction, Rule 24-1b [Movable Obstruction] applies since your ball came to rest on top of the cupcake. This Rule advises, “If the ball lies in or on the obstruction, the ball may be lifted and the obstruction removed. The ball must through the green or in a hazard be dropped … as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball lay in or on the obstruction, but not nearer the hole.”

 

  1. (d) See Rule 20-3d [Placing and Replacing: Ball Fails to Come to Rest on Spot] and Decision 20-3d/2 [Ball in Bunker Moves Closer to Hole When Obstruction Removed and Ball Will Not Remain at Rest When Replaced; All Other Parts of Bunker Are Nearer the Hole].

 

Date
Category
February 2018 Answers