- (d) The penalty statement for Rule 4-4 [Maximum of Fourteen Clubs] indicates that, for match play, at the conclusion of the hole at which the breach is discovered, the state of the match is adjusted by deducting one hole for each hole at which a breach occurred. The penalty statement also points out that the maximum deduction per round is two holes. At the conclusion of the 3rd hole, the state of the match is that Foles is 2 up. After deducting two holes, the state of the match becomes Foles 4 up. See Decision 4-4a/9 [Clarification of Match-play Penalty].
- (c) Rule 9-2a [Match Play: Information as to Strokes Taken] advises that an opponent is entitled to ascertain from the player, during the play of a hole, the number of strokes he has taken. Decision 9-2/4 [Withholding Information on Strokes Taken Until Opponent’s Turn to Play] clarifies that Foles is not in breach of Rule 9-2 since he informed Brady of the number of strokes he (Foles) had taken before Brady played his next stroke.
- (a) Rule 19-3 [Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped by Opponent, Caddie or Equipment in Match Play] states, in part, “If a player’s ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by an opponent, his caddie or his equipment, there is no penalty. The player may, before another stroke is made by either side, cancel the stroke and play a ball, without penalty, as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played….” Also see Decision 19-3/1 [Ball Accidentally Strikes Opponent Standing Out of Bounds and Comes to Rest Out of Bounds].
- (c) Rule 10-1c [Order of Play: Match Play: Playing Out of Turn] reads, “If a player plays when his opponent should have played, there is no penalty, but the opponent may immediately require the player to cancel the stroke so made and, in correct order, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played….” See also See Decision 10-1c/2 [Player Requested to Lift Ball Due to Interference Plays Out of Turn Instead].
- (c) According to Rule 5-3 [Ball Unfit for Play], a player is entitled to substitute a ball for a ball that is unfit for play. However, the player must follow the procedure which includes giving his opponent the opportunity to examine the original ball prior to its replacement. As Brady did not follow the procedure, he incurred a penalty stroke under Rule 5-3. Brady incurs a loss of hole penalty pursuant to Rule 9-2b [Match Play: Wrong Information] because he failed to inform Foles that he had incurred a penalty stroke prior to Foles making his next stroke. Rule 9-2b points out, “A player has given wrong information even if it is due to the failure to include a penalty that he did not know he had incurred. It is the player’s responsibility to know the Rules.”