January Rules Quiz: Oops!

This True/False quiz presumes that the new Local Rule concerning the accidental movement of one’s ball or ball-marker on the putting green is in effect. The objective of this quiz is to highlight some of the ramifications of this Local Rule and point out that certain Decisions may not apply when the Committee has adopted this Local Rule.

 

 

  1. In a match, your opponent, who has already marked and lifted his ball from the putting green, accidentally drops his ball and it strikes and moves your ball in play on the putting green. Your opponent is penalized one stroke.

 

  1.   Without your permission, but to help pace of play, your opponent marks and lifts your ball on the putting green after you have successfully played your ball from a greenside bunker. Your opponent is penalized one stroke.janrules1

 

  1. As you approach your ball on the putting green to lift it, you accidentally drop your putter or your ball-marker which lands on your ball and causes your ball to move. You are penalized one stroke.

 

  1. You have been asked to mark and lift your ball on the putting green by a fellow-competitor or an opponent. As you approach your ball, you briefly lose your balance and accidentally kick your ball. You are penalized one stroke.janrules2

 

  1. While carelessly making a practice swing too close to your ball on the putting green, your putter contacts your ball causing it to move. You are penalized one stroke.

 

Date
Category
January 2017 Rules