July Rules BONUS Quiz – The OPEN

In case you missed it, here is the 18-question Rules quiz issued by the R&A for this year’s Open Championship. Note that several of the answers have been embellished for instructional benefit.

 

Danny and Shona are playing in a stroke play competition over 18 holes at Royal Birkdale. As their referee, you must answer each question correctly to ensure that they complete the round in accordance with the Rules of Golf.

 

 

1.   Shona and Danny are due to tee off at 8:50 a.m. Both players arrive on the 1st tee in time, but Shona’s caddie doesn’t arrive at the tee with her clubs until 8:52 a.m. What is the ruling?

(a) There is no penalty.

(b) Shona is penalized two strokes.

(c) Shona is disqualified.

 

2.   Danny’s drive lands in the fairway bunker and as he approaches it, he accidentally kicks a divot into the bunker which comes to rest near his ball. Danny picks up the divot and throws it out of the bunker before playing his next shot. What is the ruling?

(a) There is no penalty.

(b) Danny is penalized one stroke.

(c) Danny is penalized two strokes.

 

3.   Shona’s second shot comes to rest on a sprinkler head just short of the green. She takes relief from the immovable obstruction under Rule 24-2, but before dropping her ball, she sweeps away some stones from the area where she is about to drop her ball using her towel. What is the ruling?

(a) Shona is penalized two strokes.

(b) There is no penalty.

(c) There is no penalty, but Shona must recreate the lie to its original condition before dropping the ball.

 

4. Danny’s tee shot is wayward and ends up hitting the roof of the Artisans’ clubhouse which is an immovable obstruction. From the tee, they see the ball bounce on the roof and roll down in to the guttering. When they arrive at the clubhouse, Danny can’t find his ball, but both he and Shona are certain that it entered the rooftop guttering. How can Danny proceed?

(a) Danny can play another ball from the tee without penalty.

(b) Danny must play another ball from the tee under penalty of stroke and distance.

(c) Danny can estimate the point where his ball last crossed the outermost limits of the clubhouse and drop a ball, without penalty, within one club-length no nearer the hole, of his nearest point of relief from that point.

 

  1. Shona hits her approach shot over the green and her ball strikes the grandstand and rebounds into the rough. When she arrives at the ball she sees that the ball has a large cut to its surface. What is the ruling?

(a) Shona may substitute a ball and place it on the spot where the original ball lay.

(b) Shona may replay her last stroke without penalty with a substituted ball.

(c) Shona must either continue play with her original ball or proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.

 

6.   Danny stands with his feet outside the 6th teeing ground when playing his tee-shot. His ball is within the teeing ground. What is the ruling?

(a) There is no penalty.

(b) Danny is penalized two strokes and must replay his tee shot.

(c) Danny is penalized one stroke and must play his ball as it lies.

 

7.   Shona’s ball lands and plugs on a grass island in one of the greenside bunkers. She decides to declare the ball unplayable and take a drop under penalty of one stroke. Shona must drop the ball in the bunker.

(a) True.

(b) False.

 

8.   Danny’s ball lies on the putting green. He marks the position of his ball with a small coin before rotating it several times to line up a mark on his ball which he added to help with alignment. What is the ruling?

(a) Danny is penalized one stroke.

(b) Danny is penalized two strokes.

(c) There is no penalty.

 

9.   Shona lines up to play her second shot, but she cannot see the flag due to being behind a large mound. To help with her alignment, she walks to the top of the hill and places a towel at the point between her ball and the hole where she wishes to aim. She then returns to her ball and plays. What is the ruling?

(a) There is no penalty

(b) Shona is penalized one stroke.

(c) Shona is penalized two strokes.

 

10.       Danny takes a practice swing in the rough and accidentally hits his ball. The ball moves several feet forward. What is the ruling?

(a) Danny is penalized one stroke and must play the ball as it lies.

(b) The accidental stroke counts and the ball is played as it lies.

(c) Danny is penalized one stroke and must replace his ball.

 

11. On the putting green, Shona marks her ball, cleans it, and replaces it. However, as she is removing her ball-marker, she accidentally causes her ball to move a few inches closer to the hole. What is the ruling?

(a) Shona incurs a one-stroke penalty and must replace her ball on its original position.

(b) Shona incurs a one-stroke penalty and must play the ball from its new position.

(c) There is no penalty and Shona must replace her ball on its original position.

 

12.       Danny’s ball comes to rest in a bunker at the front of the green. When making his backswing, Danny accidentally touches the sand with the sole of his club. What is the ruling?

(a) Danny incurs a one-stroke penalty.

(b) Danny incurs a two-stroke penalty.

(c) There is no penalty as the sand was touched in the making of a stroke.

 

13.       Shona’s ball comes to rest on the grass bank in water hazard. As the ball is not in the water, Shona decides to play the ball as it lies, but a stake identifying the hazard interferes with her area of intended swing. Shona removes the stake before playing her next stroke. What is the ruling?

(a) There is no penalty.

(b) Shona is penalized one stroke.

(c) Shona is penalized two strokes.

 

14. Danny hits his tee shot into the thick rough. He decides to play a provisional ball to save time and the ball comes to rest two feet from the hole. As his provisional ball is so close to the hole, he does not search for his original ball before tapping in the short putt. After he has holed his putt, and before 5 minutes has passed, a spectator calls over to say that Danny’s original ball has been found. What is the ruling?

 

(a) Danny must disregard the score with his provisional ball and continue play with his original ball.

(b) Danny’s score with the provisional ball stands.

(c) Danny’s score with the provisional ball stands but he must add an additional penalty of two strokes for incorrectly substituting his ball in play.

 

15.       Shona plays her second shot which goes towards bushes on the right-hand side of the fairway. She goes forward and searches for her ball briefly before going back to play another ball under penalty of stroke and distance. She drops another ball and is about to play it when Danny shouts to say that he has found her original ball. What is the ruling?

(a) Shona must play the dropped ball under penalty of stroke and distance.

(b) Shona must continue play with her original ball.

(c) Shona has the option to either continue with her original ball without penalty or play the dropped ball under penalty of one stroke.

 

16.       Shona’s ball finds a fairway bunker and as she enters the bunker to play her next shot she loses her footing and slips. To prevent her from falling, Shona steadies herself using her sand wedge but in doing so she touches the sand in the bunker with her club. Although some sand in the bunker is moved, nothing is done which would improve the lie, stance or area of her intended swing. What is the ruling?

(a) Shona is penalized one stroke.

(b) Shona is penalized two strokes.

(c) There is no penalty.

 

17.       Danny’s ball comes to rest against some TV cables running to a nearby scoreboard. Without marking the position of the ball, Danny moves the cables, causing his ball to move. What is the ruling?

(a) Danny incurs a penalty of one stroke and must play the ball from its new position.

(b) Danny incurs a penalty of one stroke and must replace his ball.

(c) There is no penalty and Danny must replace his ball.

 

18.       Shona and Danny complete their round and in their hurry to complete their score cards, Shona signs Danny’s score card in the box intended for the player and Danny signs his card in the box intended for the marker. What is the ruling?

(a) There is no penalty.

(b) Danny incurs penalty of two strokes.

(c) Danny is disqualified

 

Date
Category
July 2017 Rules