July Rules Quiz THE OPEN Quiz

Here is the 18-question Rules quiz issued by the R&A in conjunction with this year’s Open Championship.  Note that the answers have been embellished for instructional benefit.  You may take the quiz on line (https://www.theopen.com/OpenQuiz) with chances to win two weekly tickets to The 148th Open at Portrush along with other Rules and Open Championship merchandise.

Danny and Jin are playing in a stroke play competition over 18 holes at Carnoustie.  As their referee, you must answer each question correctly to ensure that they complete the round in accordance with the Rules of Golf.

 

 

 

 

  1. Jin and Danny are due to tee off at 9:00 a.m. At 8:58 a.m. before they tee off, Danny uses his distance measuring device to measure the distance to the first bunker. What is the ruling?  (a) There is no penalty.  (b) Danny is penalized two strokes.  (c) Danny is disqualified.

 

 

 

 

 

  1. Jin’s drive comes to rest on the concrete path on the 2nd hole. He lifts his ball to take relief and then realizes that his nearest point of relief will be in thick rough.  He decides to replace his ball back where it was on the path and play it from there.  What is the ruling?  (a) There is no penalty.  (b) Jin is penalized one stroke.  (c) Jin is penalized two strokes.

 

 

 

 

 

  1. On the 3rd hole, Danny’s ball comes to rest on the bridge in the water hazard. He grounds his club and plays the ball onto the putting green.  What is the ruling?  (a) There is no penalty.  (b) Danny is penalized one stroke.  (c) Danny is penalized two strokes.

 

 

 

 

 

  1. The 4th green is a double green shared with the 14th hole. Jin’s second shot to the 4th green comes to rest in the hole for the 14th hole.  What is the ruling?  (a)  Jin can take relief without penalty and must place the ball at the nearest point of relief on the green.  (b) Jin can take relief without penalty and must drop the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief on the green. (c) Jin is on the wrong putting green and must take relief without penalty off the putting green.

 

 

  1. Before playing his approach to the green, Danny removes a water hazard stake on his line of play. What is the ruling? (a) Danny is penalized two strokes.  (b) Danny is penalized one stroke.  (c) There is no penalty.

 

 

 

 

 

  1. Jin’s ball comes to rest next to the boundary fence. He stands out of bounds and plays the ball.  After the stroke he notices that the shaft of his club has bent significantly due to his club hitting against the fence with his follow through.  What is the ruling?  (a) The club can be replaced, or repaired, without unduly delaying play, or used in its damaged state without penalty.  (b) The club cannot be replaced or repaired and must be declared out of play. (c) The club cannot be replaced or repaired but can be used in its damaged state without penalty.

 

 

  1. Jin has a short putt for a par. Holding the flagstick in one hand he holes the short putt, gripping the putter with his other hand.  What is the ruling?  (a) There is no penalty.  (b)  Jin is penalized two strokes.  (c) Jin is penalized one stroke.

 

 

 

 

 

  1. Jin plays his tee-shot to the green. Danny is still to play and asks Jin what club he used.  Jin does not respond.  What is the ruling?  (a)  There is no penalty.  (b) Danny is penalized one stroke for asking for advice.  (c) Danny is penalized two strokes for asking Jin for advice.

 

 

 

 

 

  1. Danny searches for his ball in the rough for two minutes, finds it and leaves the area to get a club to play the ball. When he returns, he is unable to find his ball.  How long does he now have to find the ball?  (a) Two minutes.  (b) Three minutes.  (c) Five minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

  1. Danny’s ball comes to rest three (3) yards short of the 10th green. Danny decides to putt his ball, but before making his stroke, he repairs a pitch-mark on his line of play that is just off the putting green. What is the ruling?  (a) There is no penalty.  (b) Danny is penalized one stroke.  (c) Danny is penalized two strokes.

 

 

 

 

  1. Danny’s ball comes to rest on the apron between the putting green and the bunker. Jin then plays his shot from the bunker and deposits sand on and around Danny’s ball. What is the ruling?  (a) Danny is not entitled to remove the sand.  (b) Danny may lift and clean his ball and remove the sand deposited by Jin’s stroke without penalty.  (c) Danny may remove the sand deposited by Jin’s stroke without penalty, but he may not lift and clean his ball.

 

 

 

  1. Jin’s tee shot and provisional ball both enter the same area of bushes. Jin finds his original ball after seven (7) minutes of searching and claims that the first five (5) minutes were used for finding his provisional ball. His provisional is found after another two (2) minutes.  What is the ruling?  (a) Jin must continue play with his original ball.  (b) Jin must continue play with the provisional ball.  (c) Both balls are considered lost under the Rules.

 

 

 

  1. Danny’s tee shot comes to rest in a hospitality unit. Rather than taking relief from it, Danny decides to play the ball as it lies and makes a stroke at his ball from the hospitality unit. What is the ruling?  (a) There is no penalty.  (b) Danny is penalized two strokes.  (c) Danny is disqualified.

 

 

 

 

  1. Jin’s ball comes to rest in a bunker. He takes his golf bag into the bunker with him and places it in the sand. What is the ruling?(a) There is no penalty.  (b) Jin is penalized one stroke.  (c) Jin is penalized two strokes.

 

 

 

 

 

  1. Danny hits his tee shot into thick rough and plays a provisional ball to the middle of the fairway. Jin finds Danny’s original ball after just two minutes of searching for it and before Danny makes another stroke at his provisional ball. What is the ruling?  (a) Danny must continue play with his original ball.  (b) Danny may continue play with his provisional ball.  (c) Danny may choose which ball to play.

 

 

 

  1. Jin’s ball lies in a bunker. Jin casually throws the rake into the bunker for use after his stroke and accidentally causes his ball to move in the process.  Jin then replaces the ball.  What is the ruling?  (a) There is no penalty.  (b) Jin is penalized one stroke for causing his ball to move and two strokes for throwing the rake into the bunker.  (c) Jin is penalized one stroke for causing his ball to move, but there is no penalty for throwing the rake into the bunker.

 

 

 

  1. Jin’s ball comes to rest on a sprinkler head in the fairway. Jin drops his ball within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The ball comes to rest in a position where it no longer touches the sprinkler head but where the sprinkler head will now interfere with his stance.  Jin continues and makes a stroke at the ball with one foot on the sprinkler head.  What is the ruling? (a) There is no penalty.  (b) Jin is penalized one stroke.  (c) Jin is penalized two strokes.

 

 

  1. Danny’s ball comes to rest in the Barry Burn. Danny decides to play the ball as it lies but in doing so his club touches the water on his backswing. What is the ruling?  (a) There is no penalty.  (b) Danny is penalized one stroke.  (c) Danny is penalized two strokes.
Date
Category
July 2018 Rules