June Rules Quiz: Rolling Stones Answers

Answers:

  1. The issue is how Mick and Keith should proceed after outside agencies have moved their balls at rest. Rule 18-1 [Ball at Rest Moved by Outside Agency] points out, “If a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.  Note: It is a question of fact whether a ball has been moved by an outside agency.  In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that an outside agency has moved the ball.”  Also, the Definition of “Move or Moved” states, “A ball is deemed to have “moved” if it leaves its position and comes to rest in any other place.”  When one of the horses stepped on Keith’s ball, the ball changed its position, so Keith is required to replace his ball.  However, since the lie of his ball had been altered, Rule 20-3b [Lie of Ball to be Placed or Replaced Altered] applies.  This Rule indicates, “If the original lie of the ball to be placed or replaced has been altered … except in a hazard, the ball must be placed in the nearest lie most similar to the original lie that is not more than one club-length from the original lie, not nearer the hole and not in a hazard.”  Rule 18-1 is also applicable to Mick’s situation since it was known that the rooster moved his ball.  However, given the distance from the teeing ground to where his original ball came to rest in the fairway, Mick must follow Rule 20-3c [Placing and Replacing; Spot Not Determinable].  This Rule states, in part, “If it is impossible to determine the spot where the ball is to be placed or replaced … through the green, the ball must be dropped as near as possible to the place where it lay, but not in a hazard or on a putting green.”  Mick is permitted to substitute a ball per Note 1 of Rule 18 [Ball at Rest Moved] which states, “if a ball to be replaced under this Rule is not immediately recoverable, another ball may be substituted.”

 

  1. The issue is whether Wyman is penalized for playing a wrong ball. Under these circumstances, the answer is “no.”  See Decision 15/10 [Ball Thrown into Bounds by Outside Agency and Played; Neither Player Nor His Caddie Aware of Action of Outside Agency] which advises, in part, “In stroke play, in equity (Rule 1-4), there would be no penalty for playing a wrong ball (Rule 15-3).  If the player discovers before playing from the next teeing ground that the original ball was out of bounds, he must go back and proceed under Rule 27-1.  If the discovery is not made until later than this, the score with the wrong ball stands.”

 

  1. The issue is how Ronnie Wood must proceed after his ball came to rest within a movable obstruction, i.e., the golf cart. As noted in Rule 24-1b [Movable Obstruction], “If the ball lies in or on the obstruction, the ball may be lifted and the obstruction removed.  The ball must through the green or in a hazard be dropped … as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball lay in or on the obstruction, but not nearer the hole.”

 

  1. The issue is how Keith must proceed to avoid a penalty stroke after his ball came to rest overhanging the hole. Rule 16-2 [Ball Overhanging Hole] states, “When any part of the ball overhangs the lip of the hole, the player is allowed enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay and an additional ten seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest.  If by then the ball has not fallen into the hole, it is deemed to be at rest.  If the ball subsequently falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke, and must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole; otherwise, there is no penalty under this Rule.”

 

  1. The issue is whether Mick may discontinue play under these circumstances. In this case, the answer is “yes.”  Rule 6-8a [Discontinuance of Play; Resumption of Play] provides, in part, “The player must not discontinue play unless … he believes there is danger from lightning; ….”  See also Decision 6-8b/5 [Player Claiming Danger from Lightning Refuses to Resume Play When Resumption Ordered by Committee] which notes, in part, “Rule 6-8a authorizes a player to discontinue play if he considers that there is danger from lightning.  This is one of the rare occasions on which the player is virtually the final judge. The safety of the players is paramount, especially as there is a common natural fear of lightning.  Committees should not risk exposing players to danger.”

 

 

Date
Category
June 2018 Answers