- No The Note to Rule 13-4 states, “At any time, including at address or in the backward movement for the stroke, the player may touch, with a club or otherwise, any obstruction, any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course or any grass, bush, tree or other growing thing.”
- No Per Decision 4-4a/8 [Retrieving Another Player’s Lost Club], it is not a breach of Rule 4-4a [Maximum of Fourteen Clubs: Selection and Addition of Clubs] when you find another player’s club on the course and place it in your bag without using it.
- No As noted in Decision 18-2/1 [Player Who Misses Tee Shot Tees Ball Lower Before Making Next Stroke], when Art made a stroke, albeit a whiff, his ball was in play. In re-teeing, he moved his ball in play and incurred a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2, and was required to replace it. However, as Art played his next stroke from within the teeing ground, he effectively played under penalty of stroke and distance in accordance with Rule 27-1a [Proceeding Under Stroke and Distance]. Therefore, the general, i.e., loss of hole, penalty under Rule 18-2 was not applicable.
- Yes According to Decision 20-2a/8 [Player Drops Ball to Determine Where Original Ball May Roll If Dropped], it is contrary to the Rules for a player to test what may happen when he drops a ball. Therefore, in equity (Rule 1-4), Paul lost the hole.
- Yes Based on Decision 20-7/1 [Ball Played from Spot Where Original Ball Deflected Out of Bounds by Maintenance Vehicle], the beverage cart was an outside agency and the ball would have been played as it lay, without penalty, if it had ended up in bounds per Rule 19-1 [Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped by Outside Agency]. Since the ball ended up out of bounds, Paul was obliged to proceed under Rule 27-1b [Ball Out of Bounds]. In dropping a ball where the original ball was deflected and then playing it, Paul played from a wrong place, and thus incurred a loss of hole penalty pursuant to Rule 20-7b [Playing from Wrong Place: Match Play].