May Rules Quiz: Cinco De Mayo Answers

Answers:

  1. Si    Your score for the hole is four talent strokes plus one penalty stroke for taking relief from the water hazard for your original ball.  There is no cancel and replay when a bird collides with a ball in flight.  See Rule 19-1 [Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped] which states, “If the player’s ball in motion is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency, it is a rub of the green, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies ….”  Furthermore, once you played the dropped ball from the dropping zone, Rule 3-3 was no longer available to you!  This Rule states, in part, “To proceed under this Rule, [the player] must to play two balls after the doubtful situation has arisen and before taking further action (e.g., making a stroke at the original ball).”

 

  1. Si     Your score for the hole is three talent strokes plus two penalty strokes for removing the pine cone, i.e., a loose impediment, from the bunker per Rule 13-4 [Ball in Hazard; Prohibited Actions].  There is no penalty for raking the bunker since you did so for the sole purpose of caring for the course and nothing was done to improve your lie or area of intended swing for your next stroke.  See Exception 2 to Rule 13-4.  Also, there is no penalty for depositing your golf bag in the bunker.  See Exception 1 to Rule 13-4.

 

  1. No     Your score for the hole is 6 = three talent strokes plus three penalty strokes. You incurred the first penalty stroke in taking relief from the water hazard per Rule 26-1a [Relief for Ball in Water Hazard], using the stroke-and-distance procedure.  The other two penalty strokes resulted from your playing from a wrong place by not teeing your ball within the teeing ground when proceeding under the stroke-and-distance procedure.  Note that playing from outside the teeing ground is only a “must correct” situation per Rule 11-4b [Playing from Outside Teeing Ground] when a competitor is starting play of a hole.

 

  1. No     Your score for the hole is 7 = three talent strokes plus four penalty strokes.  You incurred two penalty strokes per Rule 20-7c [Playing from Wrong Place: Stroke Play] when you played from a wrong place after forgetting that you had shifted your ball-marker at the request of your fellow-competitor.  That Rule states, in part, “[The competitor] must play out the hole with the ball played from the wrong place, without correcting the error, provided he has not committed a serious breach ….”  When you picked up your ball near the hole without marking it, and then did not replace it, you incurred the general penalty (two strokes) for a breach of Rule 20-1 [Lifting and Marking].  See Decision 20-7c/2 [Ball Putted from Wrong Place Lifted and Putted from Right Place].

 

 

Date
Category
May 2018 Answers