October Rules Quiz Answers

Answers:

 

Answers:

 

  1. (b) Rule 7-2 [Practice During Round] prohibits any practice strokes from a hazard between the play of two holes. The penalty statement for this Rule states, “In the event of a breach between the play of two holes, the penalty applies to the next hole. Thus, Lahiri incurred a loss of hole penalty for the 3rd hole, leaving Schwartzel to fend for himself against the USA side.

      

  1. (d) Spieth’s actions did not constitute a concession of Oosthuizen’s next stroke because Rule 2-4 [Concession of Match, Hole or Next Stroke] points out, “A player may concede his opponent’s next stroke at any time, provided the opponent’s ball is at rest.” When Spieth picked up the ball in motion, he actually breached Rule 1-2 [Exerting Influence on Movement of Ball or Altering Physical Conditions], the penalty for which is loss of hole in match play. Thus, he forfeited his opportunity to putt to halve the hole.

      

  1. (d) The application of such a sticker renders the club non-conforming per Rule 4-1a [Form and Make of Clubs] and the club specifications of Appendix II [Design of Clubs] which state, in part, “All parts of the club must be fixed so that the club is one unit, and it must have no external attachments.” The penalty in stroke play for carrying, but not using, a non-conforming club is two strokes for each hole at which any breach occurred, with a maximum penalty per round of four strokes. Since the breach concerning the sticker on Crane’s driver was discovered between his first and second holes, it was deemed to be discovered during play of the next hole. Thus, Crane was initially assessed a four-stroke penalty, i.e., two strokes at each of his first two holes, and he had to declare his driver out of play. When he later announced that his 6-iron also had a sticker, he was assessed another pair of two-stroke penalties on his first two holes, and he had to declare his 6-iron out of play. However, Crane was disqualified because he failed to declare his 6-iron out of play, along with his driver, immediately upon the discovery that a breach of Rule 4-1 had occurred concerning his driver.

 

  1. (e) According to the Rules, Southgate’s ball was deflected by a moving outside agency, i.e., the wind-blown leaf. See Decision 18-1/6 [Ball at Rest Moved by Blowing Tumbleweed]. Therefore, the applicable Rule is Rule 19-1b [Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped by Outside Agency] requiring that Southgate’s stroke be canceled, and he should have replaced the ball and replayed the stroke. Since Southgate failed to do this, he incurred a two-stroke penalty for playing from a wrong place. See Decision 19-1/3 [Ball Played from Putting Green Deflected by Moving Outside Agency; Stroke Not Replayed]. Thereafter, Southgate incurred another two-stroke penalty for this hole as he unknowingly signed for an incorrect score for the 15th hole. See the Exception to Rule 6-6d [Wrong Score for Hole] which states, in part, “If a competitor returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken due to failure to include one or more penalty strokes that, before returning his score card, he did not know that he had incurred, he is not disqualified. In such circumstances, the competitor incurs the penalty prescribed by the applicable Rule and an additional penalty of two strokes for each hole at which the competitor has committed a breach of Rule 6-6d.”
Date
Category
October 2017 Answers