October Rules Quiz: Trick or Treat? Then & Now #6 Answers

Answers:

 

  

  1. Treat  Current Rule 14-4 [Striking Ball More Than Once] states, “If a player’s club strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke, the player must count the stroke and add a penalty stroke, making two strokes in all.”  However, according to new Rule 10.1a [Fairly Striking the Ball], “If the player’s club accidentally hits the ball more than once, there has been only one stroke, and there is no penalty.”

 

  1. Trick  According to current Rule 19-2 [Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped by Player, Partner, Caddie or Equipment], if a player’s ball is accidentally deflected by his equipment, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke.  However, as of January 1, 2019, new Rule 11.1a [Ball in Motion Accidentally Hits Person or Outside Influence] states, in part, “If a player’s ball in motion accidentally hits any person or outside influence …   • There is no penalty to any player.  • This is true even if the ball hits the player, the opponent or any other player or any of their caddies or equipment.”

 

  1. Treat  Current Rule 20-1 [Lifting and Marking] advises that a ball to be lifted under the Rules may be lifted by the player, his partner or another person authorized by the player.  Also, Decision 6-4/10 [Acts Which Caddie May Perform] points out that one of the acts which a caddie may perform without the player’s authority is “Mark the position of the ball, without lifting it – Rule 20-1.”  On the other hand, the exception to new Rule 14.1b [Who May Lift Ball] states, “When the player’s ball is on the putting green, his or her caddie may lift the ball without the player’s authorization.”

 

  1. Trick  Current Rule 14-2b [Positioning of Caddie or Partner Behind Ball] states, “A player must not make a stroke with his caddie, his partner or his partner’s caddie positioned on or close to an extension of the line of play or line of putt behind the ball.”  However, per forthcoming new Rule 10.2b(4) [Restriction on Caddie Standing Behind Player], when a player begins taking a stance for the stroke, and until the stroke is made, the player’s caddie must not deliberately stand in a location on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball for any reason.

 

  1. Treat  Currently, Rule 5-3 [Ball Unfit for Play], Rule 12-2 [Lifting Ball for Identification], and Decision 20-1/0.7 [Lifting Ball to Determine Application of Rule] all require that you announce your intention to lift to allow your opponent, marker or fellow-competitor the opportunity to observe the lifting et al of the ball.  However, new Rules 4.2c(1) [Lifting Ball to See If Cut or Cracked], 7.3 [Lifting Ball to Identify It], and 16.4 [Lifting Ball to See If It Lies in Condition Where Relief Allowed] permit you to mark and lift your ball without needing to first announce this intention to another person or to give that person a chance to observe the process!

 

  1. Treat  Current Rule 20-2a [Dropping and Re-Dropping By Whom and How] states, in part, “If the ball, when dropped, touches any person or the equipment of any player before or after it strikes a part of the course and before it comes to rest, the ball must be re-dropped without penalty.”  However, new Rule 14.3c(1) [Player Has Completed Taking Relief When Ball Dropped in Right Way Comes to Rest in Relief Area] states, in part, “The ball must come to rest in the relief area.  It does not matter whether the ball, after hitting the ground, touches any person, equipment or other outside influence before coming to rest.”

 

 

 

 

 

Date
Category
Answers, October 2018 Answers