October Rules Quiz: Trick or Treat? Then & Now #6

Here’s something for you to work on this week while relaxing in your Lay-Z-Boy munching on your surplus Halloween candy.  Using the “Then” Rules which come into effect on January 1, 2019, see if you can identify the “trick” (incorrect) statements versus the “treat” (correct) statements for the following scenarios:

 

 

 

 

  1. There is no penalty if you double-hit your ball.

 

  1. If your ball ricochets off a tree and then strikes your equipment, you are penalized one stroke and you must play your ball as it lies.

 

  1. The player’s caddie may mark and lift the player’s ball on the putting green without prior permission from the player.

 

  1. A caddie may stand behind the player to help the player line up for his or her next stroke, provided the caddie moves away before the player makes his or her next stroke.

 

  1. You are not required to announce your intention to lift prior to marking and lifting your ball either to identify it, see if it is cut or cracked, or determine if it is in a condition from which relief is allowed.

 

  1. After a correctly dropped ball strikes the ground, the ball must not be re-dropped because it then strikes the player or his or her equipment.
Date
Category
October 2018 Rules