Pumpkin Pie Rules Quiz: Then & Now #9 Answers

Answers:

 

  1. True Per new Rule 13.1c(2) [Repair of Damage], you are permitted to repair damage on the putting green without penalty by taking reasonable actions to restore the putting green as nearly as possible to its original condition.  “Damage on the putting green” includes ball marks, spike marks, scrapes or indentations caused by equipment or a flagstick, old hole plugs, animal tracks or hoof indentations, and embedded objects (such as a stone, acorn or tee).  Current Rule 16-1c [Repair of Hole Plugs, Ball Marks and Other Damage] restricts your repairs to just old hole plugs and ball marks.

 

  1. False “Club-length” is a defined term in the 2019 Rules, and that definition reads, in part, “The length of the longest club of the 14 (or fewer) clubs the player has during the round … other than a putter.” On the other hand, the current Rules permit you to select any club in your bag for measuring the one club-length or two club-lengths prescribed by the relevant Rule.  See Decision 20/1 [Club to Be Used in Measuring]. 

 

  1. False Contrary to current Rule 12-2 [Lifting Ball for Identification], there is no such announcement requirement in new Rule 7.3 [Lifting Ball to Identify It].  Similarly, in 2019, there is no requirement to announce your intention to lift to see if your ball is cut or cracked (per new Rule 4.2c(1) [Lifting Ball to See If Cut or Cracked]), or to see if your ball is lying in some condition (per new Rule 16.4 [Lifting Ball to See If It Lies in Condition Where Relief Allowed]).

 

  1. True Per new Rule 18.3a [When Provisional Ball Is Allowed] and as clarified by Interpretation 18.3a/2 [Playing Provisional Ball After Search Has Started Is Allowed], a provisional ball may be still be played even after you have begun searching for your ball, i.e., up until the new three-minute search period has expired.  According to current Decision 27-2a/1.5 [Meaning of “Goes Forward to Search], once you have proceeded forward more than 50 yards, you may not then go back and play a provisional ball.

 

  1. False New Rule 3.3c [Failure to Hole Out] states, in part, “The player must correct that mistake … for the final hole of the round, before returning the scorecard.”  Under current Rule 3-2 [Failure to Hole Out], you must correct the mistake before you leave the putting green.

 

  1. False According to new Rule 4.1b(3) [No Replacing Lost or Damaged Clubs], if you start a round with 14 clubs or add clubs up to the limit of 14 and then lose or damage a club during the round, you may not replace the lost or damaged club with another club!  Per current Rule 4-3a [Damage in Normal Course of Play], you may replace a club with a broken shaft provided it was damaged in the normal course of play.

 

  1. False According to new Rule 16.3a(2) [Determining Whether Ball Is Embedded], a player’s ball is considered to be embedded only if it is in its own pitch-mark made as a result of the player’s previous stroke.  A ball is not embedded if it is below the level of the ground as a result of anything other than the player’s previous stroke, such as when the ball was dropped in taking relief under a Rule.  On the other hand, current Decision 25-2/2 [Dropped Ball Embeds] advises that a player is entitled to free relief for an embedded ball if he or she drops a ball in a fairway and it embeds on impact.  Keep in mind that dropping under the “Now” Rules is from shoulder height, whereas dropping under the “Then” Rules will be from knee height making it much less likely that a ball will embed when dropped in accordance with new Rule 14.3b [Ball Must Be Dropped in Right Way].

 

  1. False New Rule 22.2 [Either Partner May Act for Side] states, in part, “As both partners compete as one side playing only one ball … Either partner may take any allowed action for the side before the stroke is made, such as mark the spot of the ball and lift, replace, drop and place the ball, no matter which partner’s turn it is to play next for the side.” Currently, according to Decision 29/4 [Dropping Ball in Foursome Competition], the member of the side whose turn it is to play next must drop the ball.

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Date
Category
November 2018 Answers