Here’s something for you to work on after this Halloween while you are sitting in your Lay-Z-Boy munching on all of your surplus “trick or treat” candy. See if you can identify the “trick” (incorrect) statements versus the “treat” (correct) statements in the following Rules situations:
- You may position your caddie so that the sun is not bothering you while you play a stroke.
- You may always remove a loose impediment from the putting green.
- Once you have played two or more strokes with a provisional ball, you must continue play with the provisional ball.
- Having putted your ball on the putting green, you must cancel and replay the stroke if your ball is deflected by a worm crawling across the green.
- If there is no Local Rule allowing the use of distance-measuring devices, you will not be disqualified the first time you use such a device during your stipulated round.
- If your ball comes to rest on the red line of a lateral water hazard, but there is interference to your stance outside the hazard by a burrowing animal hole, you may take relief without penalty from the burrowing animal hole.