Super Bowl 51 “Foursome” Answers

Answers:

  1. (c) As Ryan correctly played first, his ball was in play for Side Ryan-Jones. However, when Jones subsequently played from the 1st tee, he effectively played under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1a [Proceeding Under Stroke and Distance]. Thus, Jones’ ball is his side’s ball in play and is lying 3. See Decision 29-1/9 [Both Player and Partner Drive at Same Tee in Foursome Play].
  1. (c) Side Brady-Edelman played three (3) “talent” strokes and incurred two (2) penalty strokes. One penalty stroke is associated with taking relief from the lateral water hazard per Rule 26-1c [Relief for Ball in Water Hazard]. There is no penalty stroke for substituting another ball when proceeding under Rule 26-1c because this Rule requires the player to drop “a” ball, not “the” ball, i.e., the original ball. The second penalty stroke is due to a breach of Rule 20-2a [Dropping and Re-Dropping: By Whom and How]. That Rule states, in part, “A ball to be dropped under the Rules must be dropped by the player himself. … If a ball is dropped by any other person … and the error is not corrected as provided in Rule 20-6, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke.” Per Rule 29-1 [Threesomes and Foursomes: General], “Penalty strokes do not affect the order of play.” Thus, Edelman was next to play for his side, and he should have dropped the ball, not Brady. Decision 29/4 [Dropping Ball in Foursome Competition] states, “In view of the requirement of Rule 20-2a that the player himself shall drop the ball, the member of the side whose turn it is to play next must drop the ball.”
  1. (b) Rule 7-2 [Practice: During Round] states, in part, “A player must not make a practice stroke during play of a hole.” The penalty statement for this Rule indicates that the two-stroke penalty for a breach in stroke play is applied to the next hole in the event of a breach between the play of two holes. Decision 29/3 [Player in Foursome Match Practice Putts on Previous Green After Partner Has Driven from Next Tee] confirms that Ryan has breached Rule 7-2 by practice putting after his foursome partner has teed off from the next teeing ground.
  1. (c) Side Brady-Edelman cannot begin play of this odd-numbered hole until Brady plays from within the correct teeing ground. When Brady played from the wrong teeing ground, his side incurred a two-stroke penalty under Rule 11-4b [Playing from Outside Teeing Ground: Stroke Play]. When Edelman then played from the correct tee, he actually played in the incorrect order for his side. Thus, Side Brady-Edelman incurred a two-stroke penalty under Rule 29-3 [Threesomes and Foursomes: Stroke Play] which states, “If the partners make a stroke or strokes in incorrect order, such stroke or strokes are canceled and the side incurs a penalty of two strokes.” See Decision 29/1/2 [Competitor Plays from Outside Teeing Ground in Foursome Stroke Play; Partner Replays Stroke]. When Brady eventually plays from the correct teeing ground, he will be playing the fifth stroke for his side.
  1. (a) As previously noted, Rule 29-3 advises that penalty strokes do not affect the order of play. Therefore, Ryan is the one to play a ball provisionally for the side when his partner has just played a ball that might be out of bounds. See Decision 29-1/3 [Who Plays Provisional Ball in Foursome].
  1. (f) Normally, Side Ryan-Jones would be penalized two strokes under Rule 13-4 [Ball in Hazard Prohibited Actions] when Ryan slammed his club into the fairway bunker after his failed attempt to get out of that bunker. See Decision 13-4/35 [Hitting Sand in Bunker with Club After Failing to Extricate Ball]. Likewise, Side Ryan-Jones would have incurred another two-stroke penalty under Rule 13-4 when Jones made several practice swings into the greenside bunker. See Decision 13-4/3 [Touching Ground in Hazard with Several Practice Swings]. However, after Ryan failed to play the ball out of the fairway bunker, it was now Jones’ turn to play. When Ryan played the next stroke, he played out of order and Side Ryan-Jones needed to correct that mistake before playing from the next teeing ground. Since they did not do so, they are disqualified per Rule 29-3 which states, in part, “If the partners make a stroke or strokes in incorrect order, such stroke or strokes are canceled and the side incurs a penalty of two strokes. The side must correct the error by playing a ball in correct order …. If the side makes a stroke on the next teeing ground without first correcting the error …, the side is disqualified.”
Date
Category
January 2017 Answers